Alumni Sandstorm ~ 03/21/18
ME --- so we don't have a "NOT" issue
Maren SMYTH ('63 & '64)

BOMBER LUNCH Today: '55 Ladies, 11:30, (3rd Wed)
 Billie LAWELL or Sharon TEMPLEMAN will tell you where 

 Click the event you want to know more about.
>>From: Maren SMYTH ('63 & '64)

Re: 2018 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race - Official Iditarod Site

And the Award Goes To....
 2018 Iditarod Champion: Joar Leifseth Ulsom
 Second Place: Nic Petit

 Third Place: Mitch Seavey

 The PenAir Spirit of Alaska award - presented since 2000 
to the first musher to reach the McGrath checkpoint:
	Framed print by Iditarod artist Jon Van Zyle
	$500 flight credit
	Winner: Mitch Seavey

 GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award - Presented by GCI since
1994, given to the first musher to arrive in Iditarod (even
	$3,000 in gold nuggets and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Joar Leifseth Ulsom

 The Lakefront Anchorage First Musher to the Yukon Award -
Presented since 1983 to the first musher to the Yukon. 2018 race
route, award was given at the Anvik checkpoint.
	A five course, gourmet dinner prepared at the checkpoint
by Lakefront Anchorage executive chef Roberto Sidro
	$3,500 one-dollar bills served on a commemorative gold pan
	Winner: Nicolas Petit

 Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award - presented by
Bristol Bay Native Corporation since 2014 to the first musher to
reach the Kaltag checkpoint:
	A $2,000 check
	A certificate for 25# of fresh-caught, Bristol Bay salmon
	Winner: Nicolas Petit

 Northrim Bank Achieve More Award ~ '18 inaugural year, 
presented to the first musher to the White Mountain checkpoint:
	check for $2,500
	One-of-a-kind print by Anchorage artist Marianne Wieland
	Winner: Joar Leifseth Ulsom

 Rookie of the Year Award ~ presented since 1980 to the 
top-placing rookie. 
	A $2,000 check, and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Jessie Holmes, 7th place time: 9d 23h 39m 40s 

 Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome ~ Presented 
since 1973, this awards goes to the musher (in the top 20) with 
the fastest time from the Safety to finish in Nome.
	A $500 check, and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Nicolas Petit, with a time 2h 9m

 Anchorage Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Official Truck Award - to
the Iditarod champion since 1991.
	2017 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4, valued at $40,000
	Winner: Joar Leifseth Ulsom

 Matson Most Improved Musher Award ~ presented to the musher 
who bettered his/her previous finish by the most places.
	$2,000 in cash, and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Matthew Failor, improved 46 places (59th in 2017 
to 13th in 2018)

 Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award ~ since 1977 to the musher 
demonstrating sportsmanship, chosen by fellow mushers.
	$3,000 check and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Scott Janssen

 Most Inspirational Musher Award ~ since 2010 to the most 
inspirational musher, chosen by fellow mushers.
	Entry fee for the 2019 Iditarod
	Winner: Jessie Royer

 Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award ~ presented
since 2007 to the person who emulates "Herbie: The Shishmaref 
Cannon Ball" in his/her attitude on the trail, chosen by race 
staff and officials
	$1,049 "pocket change" inside a Northern Air Cargo jacket
	Winner: Richie Diehl

 Golden Clipboard Award ~ 2001 to the most outstanding 
checkpoint, this award is chosen by the competing mushers:
	A commemorative plaque
	Winner: Shaktoolik

 Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award ~ since 1982 to a musher 
who demonstrates outstanding dog care while remaining 
competitive throughout the race, chosen by the veterinary team.
	Entry fee for next Iditarod, and a commemorative trophy
	Winner: Aliy Zirkle

 City of Nome Lolly Medley Memorial Golden Harness Award ~ 
Originally presented by the late Lolly Medley, a Wasilla harness
maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod in 1974,
recipient is chosen by mushers and is awarded to the most 
outstanding lead dog.
	Embroidered gold-colored harness
	Winner: Russeren, Joar Leifseth Ulsom's lead dog, a four-
year-old male who led Ulsom's team to an Iditarod championship
in 9 days and 12 hours.

 Red Lantern Award ~ since 1973, the Red Lantern Award is given
to the final finisher of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race:
	Red lantern trophy
	Winner: Magnus Kaltenborn

-Maren SMYTH ('63 & '64) ~ Gretna, LA ~ 57 at 3am (DST!!)
That's it for today. Please send more.